Exhaling

December 19, 2008

 

cornfields

So ugly,

You were beautiful

In your elegant stubbornness;

Your life gift

 

Sitting on the porch

I rocked you in my arms;

The prairie house

Held us in the

Big sky.

 

The cornfield,

Harvested, stubbled,

Enchanted as the

Ladybugs swarmed

 

The only moment

Of distress, the prick

Of the needle-

Irritated you.

 

So, I told

You stories of

Being a baby

About shots myself.

 

I told you love.

I told you goodbye.

I told you, it is okay.

And, you knew.

 

So, we rocked

 

As we

 

Exhaled

In

Love.

 

kimsmith

big-open_edited

Leave a Reply

