Shir Hashirim Chapter One

April 7, 2007

Illusion

Mark Esposito

illusion-mark-esposito.jpg

 

The Song of Songs, which is Solomon’s.

“Let him kiss me with the kisses of his mouth,
for your love is better than wine.

Because of the fragrance of your goodly oils, your
name is ‘oil poured forth.’ Therefore, the maidens loved you.

Draw me, we will run after you; the king brought me
to his chambers. We will rejoice and be glad in you. We will recall your love
more fragrant than wine; they have loved you sincerely.

I am black but comely, O daughters of Jerusalem!
Like the tents of Kedar, like the curtains of Solomon.

Do not look upon me [disdainfully] because I am
swarthy, for the sun has gazed upon me; my mother’s sons were incensed against
me; they made me a keeper of the vineyards; my own vineyard I did not keep.

 

image-to-india-james-gritz.jpg

Pilgrimage to India

James Gritz

 

“If you do not know, O fairest of women, go
your way in the footsteps of the flocks and pasture your kids beside the
shepherds’ dwellings.

At the gathering of the steeds of Pharaoh’s
chariots have I silenced you, my beloved.

Your cheeks are comely with rows, your neck with
necklaces.

We will make you rows of gold with studs of
silver.”

“While the king was still at his table, my
spikenard gave forth its fragrance.

A bundle of myrrh is my beloved to me; between my
breasts he shall lie.

A cluster of henna-flowers is my beloved to me, in
the vineyards of Ein-Gedi.”

“Behold, you are comely, my beloved; behold,
you are comely; your eyes are like doves.”

“Behold, you are comely, my beloved, yea
pleasant; also our couch is leafy.

The beams of our houses are cedars; our corridors
are cypresses.”

 

nature-studies-steven-gelberg.jpg

Nature Study

Steven Gelberg

 

 

 

 

Judaica Press Complete Tanach

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

