I Want You to Know

March 24, 2007

 

 Sysyphus
Vladamir Kush 

 sysyphus-vladamir-kush.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


















 
 
 
I want you to know
one thing.
 
You know how this is:
if I look
at the crystal moon, at the red branch
of the slow autumn at my window,
if I touch
near the fire
the impalpable ash
or the wrinkled body of the log,
everything carries me to you,
as if everything that exists,
aromas, light, metals,
were little boats
that sail
toward those isles of yours that wait for me.



















 






































 

 cyprus-mike-sibthorp.jpeg


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cyprus

Mike Sibthorp

 


 

 

Well, now,
if little by little you stop loving me
I shall stop loving you little by little. 
If suddenly
you forget me
do not look for me,
for I shall already have forgotten you. 
If you think it long and mad,
the wind of banners
that passes through my life,
and you decide
to leave me at the shore
of the heart where I have roots,
remember
that on that day,
at that hour,
I shall lift my arms
and my roots will set off
to seek another land.

 

manolis-tsantakis.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Manolis Tsantakis

 

 

But
if each day,
each hour,
you feel that you are destined for me
with implacable sweetness,
if each day a flower
climbs up to your lips to seek me,
ah my love, ah my own,
in me all that fire is repeated,
in me nothing is extinguished or forgotten,
my love feeds on your love, beloved,
and as long as you live it will be in your arms
without leaving mine


 

Pablo Neruda

10 Responses to “I Want You to Know”

  1. there is something about that photo.
    the two young women, contrasted in every way.
    one in white, the other black.
    the curve of one’s arm upswept, the other cupped.
    blonde and brunette.
    looking left, looking right.
    music, dance.
    hidden, open.
    background, foreground.
    something about that photo upsets me.
    it is a contrived image, coy and deceitful.
    art should not be contrived.
    something…
    maybe its the violin.

  2. kimtelas said

    So, what? You telling me you don’t “like” this photo? Smiling as I write..

    I love your commentary and I thank you for putting it down in words, this takes a little time and, if you are Kim, headspace!

    It is contrived. We agree on that.

    I do know I do not usually seek to upset folks. I did post the photo. Hmm. Maybe being upset will show you something you need. Um, or not. I am an optimist though.

    Thank you liquidquick!

    Kim

  3. the world would be a boring, moody, lazy, lonely place if it only contained things that i ‘liked’. i don’t dislike the photo itself, i do dislike its artificiality. do i need to be upset every once in a while? absolutely.

    its not the violin.

  4. kimtelas said

    I did not articulate well: I did understand you to dislike the artifice.

    I am glad you are upset in the sense that I like dialogue.

    Never the violin!

    Thanks liquidquick,

    Kim

  5. qazse said

    I know what LQ means. I too have never been a fan of most staged photography but Kim does find some beautiful ones. (this one looks like a scene from Lawrence Welk – The Movie)

  6. kimtelas said

    I love Lawrence Welk! Well, I think it’s the bubbles that I truly like!

    So, here is a food for thought pickle in the pudding moment:

    Because it feels contrived/staged does that mean it is?

    When we/or photographers in general take a photo are we not “staging” that shot by seeing it? by capturing it? by deciding, this is the moment EYE want, and snap.

    I love this photo. I know it is created, decided. It is like a short story or a poem to me. And, I know it is staged, if you will.

    I see photography as story and if it is ‘staged” and works for me, perception is all, then, I like it!

    Hmmm.

    Thank you both!

    Kim

  7. qazse said

    Kim, compelling argument. You may be encountering the venus vs mars thing here with me and LQ. I can’t speak for LQ but I would guess that some things women finds enjoyable we just scratch our heads and wonder…it may be simply a guy thing…

  8. like shoes… and handbags… and more shoes… and nine hours in the bathroom to get ready to go out… and STOP asking me if your butt looks big in those jeans… did i mention shoes?… if you don’t want the toilet seat up then just put it down ferchrissakes… no, one plate on the counter does NOT make the whole house look like a pig-sty… sure i’ll use the closet in the guest bedroom on the second floor so you can have more room for your damned shoes…

    grrrrr…

  9. kimtelas said

    Ohhhhh.

    And, Amen.

    And, I watched a movie with Queen Latifah in it. Not a great movie but it had redeeming moments:

    Queen Latifah’s character to her daughter:”Does my butt look big in these jeans? “Yes” “Good!”

    Smling as she types………

    Thanks liquidquick, that told it all!

  10. karinacarmen69 said

    Hello:

    You wrote about this picture almost a year ago and I have to add to the blog, because I am the woman in the photograph. I am the dancer in the black dress. I found my image on your blog completely by accident and to my surprise. It has been so interesting to see what both of you have written back and forth. How amazing to see and hear what is being felt by two individuals so far from the image. This image was taken more than 5 years ago on the island of Crete by Manolis Tsantakis. Manolis approached me some years before that to photograph me dancing flamenco when I would be in Europe. I live in America now. One day that opportunity came and the image you see was an accidental shot!!!! It is so funny, because this image was taken the day after I arrived after being on a ship all night from Athens. Manolis and I had never met in person only by correspondence. He asked that I bring black or white dresses. That day I neither had my hair ready, nor my make up nor my self. It was a get to know one another and get comfortable day. We went out to seek locations and then it all happened. I had my black dance dress, I had my old wedding dress from a failed marriage, the only white dress I owned and Manolis had the violin in his car. The woman in white is Manolis wife. She wore my dress which did not fit her and we tore it. It was the perfect ending to that dress, drenched in the Mediterranean Sea and shredded. Because I am a flamenco dancer I used my skirt and my body, because I could not use my feet on the rock. There was a lot of honesty and the motion of my body from my memory. I remember it exactly the breath, the reach the deep place in me that was stirred in that moment and to me the most amazing part of seeing your blog is that you put it in the middle of an amazing verse of Pablo Neruda and that it stirred much emotion, positive and negative. To the young man that thought the image was black and white, positive and negative maybe not so great, that is OK that day was probably all those things. Yet, I know that with that experience captured in that very moment I released much fear and I allowed myself to become the powerful person I knew I could be and by far with great focuse that moment put in me the continued drive to become much more the artist I wanted to become. This has been so interesting. http://www.caminoskarina.com

Leave a Reply

