Longing

January 6, 2007


 

From Women in the Landscape

 

Steven Gelberg

 

 

 

 

steven-gelberg-kate-at-the-seashore.jpg

 

 

If you could sit with me beside the sea to-day,
And whisper with me sweetest dreamings o’er and o’er;
I think I should not find the clouds so dim and gray,
And not so loud the waves complaining at the shore.

If you could sit with me upon the shore to-day,
And hold my hand in yours as in the days of old,
I think I should not mind the chill baptismal spray,
Nor find my hand and heart and all the world so cold.

If you could walk with me upon the strand to-day,
And tell me that my longing love had won your own,
I think all my sad thoughts would then be put away,
And I could give back laughter for the Ocean’s moan!

 

 

 

 

Paul Laurence Dunbar

 

 

 

feet-jerry-avenaim.jpg

Feet

Jerry Avenaim

3 Responses to “Longing”

  1. superb! Kin at her best with words and emotion!

    Just loved it!

  2. sorry For “n” instead of “m”

  3. kimtelas said

    Oh, well, I don’t think I ever have a moment without emotions, and rarely without words. I can become speechless though, trust me.

    Kin is good.

    You can read more of this poet if you click on his name. I linked to a page of his works.

    Thank you Suresh.

    Kim

Leave a Reply

