The Beginning

December 3, 2006

 

Tufa Towers and Moon Rise Dusk, Mono Lake California, USA

TQ Luong

tufa-towers-and-moonrise-dusk-mono-lake-california-usa-tq-luong.jpeg

 

 

Untimely
in a land unknown
at a time yet not arrived.
Thus, I was born

within the forest of beast and
rock.

My heart

in void

started beating.
I abandoned the cradle of reiteration

in a land with no bird, no spring.
My first journey was a return

from the hope-abrading vistas of
thorn and sand,

without having gone far
on the inexperienced feet of the fledgeling that was I.

My first journey

was a return.

The vast distance
taught no hope.
Trembling,

I stood on the feet of the novice
that was I
facing the horizon ablaze.

I realized that there was no tidings
for in between stood a mirage.
The vast distance taught no hope.
I learnt that there was no tidings:
This boundless

was a prison so huge

that the soul
hid in tears

from shame of impotence.

Ahmad Shamlu

 

 

 

mesquite-sand-dunes-early-morning-death-valley-national-park-california-usa-qt-luong.jpeg

 

Mesquite Sand Dunes, Early Morning, Death Valley National Park, California, USA

TQ Luong

Leave a Reply

