Swamp Dance

November 12, 2006

 

Santa Fe River II

Jeff Ripple

santa-fe-river-ii-jeff-ripple.jpg

The arms of the swamp
Bring Cajun
Spice to my
Cypress stump door

 

 Where I sip beer to
The buzz bop
Of insects in their
Frenzied evening dance

 

In this silent cacophony
Commuters do not
Question horns
And romantic sunset haze

 

 The moss’ intensity
Allows nothing
To penetrate this
Layered place of life

 

 And putrefaction…..

 

kimsmith
2006

 

 

turner-river-i-jeff-ripple.jpg

Turner River I

Jeff Ripple

2 Responses to “Swamp Dance”

  1. qazse said

    i LIKE THIS POEM, ESPECIALLY THE LINES:
    “Commuters do not
    Question horns
    And romantic sunset haze”

    did you drink beer on the Bayou?

  2. kimtelas said

    qasze,

    No, never! But I have imagined it a “million” times. So, I just had this moment.

    One of my dreams is to canoe the Florida Keys and live or visit the true swamp life some day.

    It just happened.

    I have read a little about swamp life.

    I just imagine a lot!

    Thanks,

    Kim

Leave a Reply

