Mirabai

October 31, 2006

 

 

Ahmed Al Safi

 

ahmed-al-safi.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dark one,
all I request is a portion of love.
Whatever my defects,
you are for me an ocean of raptures.
Let the world cast its judgments
nothing changes in my heart-
a single word from your lips is sufficient-
birth after birth begging a share of that love.
Mira says: Dark One-enter the penetralia,
you’ve taken
this girl past the limits.

 

 

Mirabai

(1498-1550)

garden4.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Garden Series Four

Gabriel Rigon

 

 

 

 

Translated by Andrew Schelling

From:

The Erotic Spirit

Anthology of Poems of Sensuality,

Love, and Longing.

Editor: Sam Hamill

2 Responses to “Mirabai”

  1. photopage said

    Heart throbbing lines.
    “Let the world cast its judgments
    nothing changes in my heart-
    a single word from your lips is sufficient-
    birth after birth begging a share of that love.”
    Excellent!

  2. kimtelas said

    This poem speaks for me. I am an American who dealt with spiritual injury through therapy. Fortunately I met a woman who studied Buddhism and many other aspects of healing, not just what she learned in her formal education.

    Without poetry and art, I think that I would not be able to feel myself in the world. Therapy is fine but it is one thread of many.

    I need the artists!

    It is an amazing poem.

    Thank you Sathiyan !

    Kim

Leave a Reply

