Forsaken

October 8, 2006

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abandoned on the edge of self,
Touching the end of the line,
The void in fog’s demise.

Unanswered calls echo bare hallways,
A desert life abandoned.
Crawling through the biting sand,

Wailing in this abyss:
Your name, my name,
My heart, my love, not yours.

Absconding with the light,
You left me in the shadows,
As you struggle with your dark living arts.

And yet,

We are born to be abandoned.
Walking this winding road that
Ends in death and soft song.

Womb of love, desire, want,
Need, passion, traveling, lust,
Seeks what we are not.

Whirling in restraint’s containment,
Crawling through the detritus,
Emerging filthy, branded, eyes wide open-

I

Dive deep into this pool of anguish,
While you walk the shore,
Abandoning all offerings.

Surrendering expansion’s opportunity,
Withdrawing into the fog, you leave
Unopened treasures behind-

 

Solitary in the lingering mist……

 

kimsmith

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top Image: Pier

Artist: Giedrius Varnas

Bottom Image:

Artist: Unknown at Art.Com

powered by performancing firefox

4 Responses to “Forsaken”

  1. organbone said

    ‘In the desert
    I saw a creature, naked, bestial,
    Who, squatting upon the ground,
    Held his heart in his hands,
    And ate of it.
    I said, “Is it good, friend?”
    “It is bitter – bitter”, he answered,
    “But I like it
    Because it is bitter,
    And because it is my heart.” ‘
    -Stephen Crane

  2. kimtelas said

    Dear organbone,

    Oh my, thank you.

    Kim

  3. qazse said

    I enjoyed the poem which I read three times and probably need to read three times more and three times again to fully appreciate. The lines below were especially powerful for me.

    We are born to be abandoned.
    Walking this winding road that
    Ends in death and soft song.

    Womb of love, desire, want,
    Need, passion, traveling, lust,
    Seeks what we are not.

  4. kimtelas said

    You know what is funny?

    Sometimes when I read my work I wonder who wrote it.

    These lines that are powerful for you feel like that.

    And, this is why I write.

    (That and I am a compulsive expressive!)

    Thank you,

    Kim

Leave a Reply

