This Forest

October 2, 2006

 

i was this tree once

 

this fog my blood
this height my heart
this ground my rest
this myst my sweat

 

in this graven forest

 

 between the places
between lost and found
between birth and death
between home and hell

 

 in this tension

 

you will find my birth
from the root dance
deeply soiled below
trunk reaching for the sun

 

kimsmith

october 2006

 

 

 

Top Photo: Redwood National Part

Artist: Q.T. Luong

Bottom Photo: Kee Beach North Shore Kauai Island Hawaii

Artist: Q.T. Loung

 

 

 

 

powered by performancing firefox

6 Responses to “This Forest”

  1. davidbdale said

    particularly the first four lines!
    oh yes, the first four lines!

  2. kimtelas said

    Hi David,

    Thank you for reading and for the input!

    I will take those first four lines and put them on a blank page and see what else will happen.

    I found your writing and am excited about reading your work.

    Take care,

    Kim

  3. qazse said

    I like this poem especially

    in this tension

    you will find my birth
    from the root dance
    deeply soiled below
    trunk reaching for the sun

    sounds like conception below the covers

  4. kimtelas said

    So,

    Who will go for the other stanza!??!

    Thank you.

    I learned something writing this.

    I am deeply evoked by image. Duh. I mean 46 years old and I took this photo and just wrote.

    So, now I have daily writings with photos, images, pasted in them and labeled whatever my first thought was looking at the image.

    I am so excited—I felt loose when I wrote this.

    Thanks qazse…….

    Kim

  5. photopage said

    “this fog my blood
    this height my heart
    this ground my rest
    this myst my sweat”
    Beautiful lines..

    “you will find my birth
    from the root dance
    deeply soiled below
    trunk reaching for the sun”
    Excellent penning!

  6. kimtelas said

    Hi Sathiyan,

    Thank you!

    I think I found an inner voice here.

    And, I will be paying attention to her!

    Take care,

    Kim

Leave a Reply

