Clan, Heritage, And Story

September 24, 2006

gracie-laughing-in-the-flowers_edited.jpg

My soulmate who said hello to me the day of her birth:

Gracious Galileo

cosmic-cat-chics-two_edited.jpg

Two Cool Chics

Olivia-Who tells us of her past lives and knows faeries withGracious Galileo.

carrie-and-olivia-together_edited.jpg

Talk and Touch

sitting-in-the-ocean_edited.jpg

The being is the doing

To watch and make safe

This is all there is

olivia-the-flower-fairy-to-be-goddess-one_edited.jpg

Yes, I have just come from visiting the faeries…

mom-and-olivia.jpg

Father and Son

The Love and The Struggle

space-pool-man-elijah_edited.jpg

My boy boy Elijah

Spaceman

Aware and Caring

Exuberant

mom-and-dad-restaurant_edited.jpg

My Parents

My Mother Wandering

Tour Guides

Caretakers

Lesson Givers

together-sunset-one_edited.jpg

 

The Waning Day in Love

fairy-abode-complete-one_edited.jpg

Home for the Faeries Built by Elijah on the Coast of Maine

 

 

 

These photos are mere glimpses of a story. For me, they tell a story, for you they are images on a screen. You might feel something, my mother does have a photographic eye; she also has a grandmother’s hunger for visual history.

What is family?

For me, family are those I love.

These photos show the people who are my family by blood
relations. Certainly not all of them, but again, a glimpse.

Family is story.

These people have been through mental illness, death, loss, my great Aunt who is gone now had 10 miscarriages, disrupted childhoods, violated childhoods, been inflicted upon by unknowing caretakers; they have lived.

There is nothing magical here.

Yes, it is all magical.

I live with awareness as a crucial value. I have traveled this spiral for enough years to see and feel the healing, the connectivity, the acceptance, and the tension that is us.

There is no perfection here. There is no perfect childhood
in any of these photos. You might think so though by just looking.

We fight, we fear, we withdraw, we internalize, we forget we
are adults; there is drinking and alternative states, there is humanity.

There are good people loving their children in ways that
evoke awe in me.

There are grandparents learning anew.

There is a woman learning the sacred role of Aunt. (She is
in the photos in spirit only.)

There are those estranged yet in our souls, out of reach in
ways we do not know how to span.

This is a peek at my story.

And your story?

Take care,

Kim

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

