Hands

September 17, 2006

 

 

 

these hands

are man hands

 

not small

like mine

 

not fine

or delicate

 

these hands

take and give

 

like the bull

on sunday

 

like hands

hold babies

 

like oiled

monkeys

 

like the

caress upon

my cheek

 

 

 

kimsmith

September 2002

 

Middle Photo: Found in Google Images, I could not trace the artist but used it for is wonderment.

Top Photo : Loving Hands
Artist: Christin Ellis

Bottom Photo: Poor Man

Artist: Matthew Huron

 

Matthew Huran is the light in the dark, the glow in the shadow, the whimsy of life, like the coyote trickster in various Indian (Native American Indian) cosmologies. Mesmerized, comforting, discomforting, giggly and down right inviting. The images could strike us as odd except that we are too busy participating in them. Take a wanding whimsy.

 

My hands are small. One lover loved my hands the most, I was never sure why but then, I was not her. I am a large woman who can carry herself because I live in my body. My hands have looked old since I was in my 20’s, this is a funky phenomena in my life. When I married Don, my ex-husband, I realized how different our hands were. I was amazed by the contrast. I started noticing men’s hands and how varied they were but especially those in contrast to my own. (Next: My aesthetic attachment to men’s arms out pickup truck windows. Yea.)

 

To hands and light.

 

 

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

