This is For You

September 16, 2006

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is for you

 

it is my full heart

 

it is the book I meant to read you

 

when we were old

 

Now I am a shadow

 

I am restless as an empire

 

You are the woman

 

who released me

 

I saw you watching the moon

 

you did not hesitate

 

to love me with it

 

I saw you honouring the wildflowers

 

caught in the rocks

 

you loved me with them

 

On the smooth sand

 

between pebbles and shoreline

 

you welcomed me into the circle

 

more than a guest

 

All this happened

 

in the truth of time

 

in the truth of flesh

 

I saw you with a child

 

you brought me to his perfume

 

and his visions

 

without demand of blood

 

On so many wooden tables

 

adorned with food and candles

 

a thousand sacraments

 

which you carried in your basket

 

I visited my clay

 

I visited my birth

 

until I became small enough

 

and frightened enough

 

to be born again

 

I wanted you for your beauty

 

you gave me more than yourself

 

you shared your beauty

 

This I only learned tonight

 

as I recall the mirrors

 

you walked away from

 

after you had given them

 

whatever they claimed

 

for my initiation

 

Now I am a shadow

 

I long for the boundaries

 

of my wandering

 

and I move

 

with the nervy of your prayer

 

and I move

 

in the direction of your prayer

 

for you are kneeling

 

like a bouquet

 

in a cave of bone

 

behind my forehead

 

and I move toward love

 

you have dreamed for me

 

 

 

Leonard Cohen

 

Picture/Painting: Kelly in the Window

Artist: Anni Adkins

 

 

 

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

